The Diamond Four C's

The Cut

The cut of the diamond is more than just the shape; it is an art which shows the true beauty of a diamond. Careful examination of the rough diamonds by an experienced cutter will maximise both the yield from the stone and the shape which it is best suited too. Equally the proportions of the different cuts all work to maximise the brilliance (sparkle) and fire (flashes of colours)


The most popular shape, which evolved from the Old Mine Cut from the mid-18th century is the Round Modern Brilliant Cut. Unveiled in 1914, it has 58 facets mathematically calculated to maximise fire and brilliance. The same proportions are adapted to create other fancy cuts such the Oval, Heart, Marquise and Pear.

Designed in 1973 the Princess Cut with 45 facets produces a bright and scintillating look, creating a modern feel in jewellery. The Emerald Cut and Baguette Cut are rectangular designs, with fewer facets for a simple elegance, whilst the Radiant Cut and Asscher Cut are new adaptations of these classic shapes.

Diamond Certification

A Diamond Certificate, or Diamond Grading Report, gives accurate and detailed information about the cut, clarity, colour, carat, dimensions, symmetry, finish, fluorescence and includes any other special features. On some diamonds the certificate number is laser inscribed on the girdle of the diamond.

 A diamond grading report is carried out by an independent laboratory, which has no commercial interest in the result of the report. Customers are guaranteed that the diamond they are buying is exactly what they wanted.

At Gold Arts, we offer certificated and non-certificated diamonds. All our certificated diamonds have been graded by the top gemmological laboratories:

GIA (Gemmological Institute of America)

HRD (High Diamond Council - Hoge Raad voor Diamant)

IGI (International Gemological Institute)


Our non-certificated diamonds have been assessed by our diamond merchants and also assessed by DGA FGA qualified staff.


The Carat

The Carat refers to the size or weight of the diamond. One Diamond Carat = metric weight of 0.2g.

Jewellers tend to divide the carat into a points system. 100 points = 1 carat. Therefore when a diamond is described as 25 points or 0.25ct it is a quarter of a carat. Therefore 50pt or 0.50ct is half a carat. Larger diamonds, for example a two and half carat diamond is expressed as 2.50ct.

The Colour

Most diamonds appear to be white in colour, however jewellers grade diamonds on how colourless they are. Almost all diamonds have a very slight hint of colour, although it is barely discernible to the naked eye. The rarest diamonds have no colour at all.

The GIA and CIBJO scale illustrated shows how different colours are termed, although without specialist training and correct laboratory conditions, it is impossible to accurately grade diamonds.

Although a colourless diamond is rare and valuable, a diamond which shows a strong colour, known as a Fancy Colour is also rare and valuable.
Natural yellow/brown shades such as Champagne and Cognac are popular choices, whilst naturally coloured reds, blues, pinks and greens are highly desirable and extremely rare.

Fancy colours are very rare so to meet consumer demand scientists have developed a method of enhancing colour by irradiating diamonds. 
Any diamond which has been enhanced will be clearly labelled by Gold Arts and all other reputable diamond suppliers in line with DTC and CIBJO Guidelines and Trading Standards.

The Clarity

The clarity of a diamond is a measure of how free from inclusions it is. An inclusion is a natural feature within a diamond such as a tiny mineral deposit which becomes trapped inside the diamond whilst it was forming underground millions of years ago.

Almost all diamonds have a few extremely small inclusions, which are difficult to see without magnification, and have very little or no affect on the brilliance of a diamond. A diamond with no internal inclusions is graded as IF - Internally Flawless, and these diamonds are very rare and very valuable

The NAG Grading Scale shown assesses the size, quantity and position of any inclusions. The Clarity of a diamond affects the value, however when selecting your diamond, it is important to consider all the 4 C's before making a choice.